Tampa Bay Buccaneers Name Captains


Aug 16, 2014; Tampa, FL, USA; Tampa Bay Buccaneers wide receiver Vincent Jackson (83) works out prior to the game against the Miami Dolphins at Raymond James Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers have named their captains for 2014.

On offense, the team is captained by quarterback Josh McCown as well as wide receiver Vincent Jackson.

On defense, linebacker Lavonte David and defensive tackle Gerald McCoy get the honors while on special teams punter Michael Koenen gets the nod.

Head coach Lovie Smith said that every player got a vote and he even voted himself. After last year’s captain fiasco, Smith didn’t elaborate on whether he kept track or not of the votes.

All five players are senior members of the team. While McCown is new to the team, the experienced leader was always going to be given the nod to be one of the captains. Jackson was a captain last year and is often seen as a mentor to the team’s many young players so his selections doesn’t come as a surprise.

On the defensive side, the two captains are essentially the Bucs’ best two players on defense. For special teams, Koenen was the most logical choice after the team severed ties with kicker Connor Barth.

The Bucs open their season Sunday at home to the Carolina Panthers. Kickoff is 4:25 p.m. Eastern.