Tampa’s Tony La Russa Inducted into Baseball Hall of Fame


Jul 27, 2014; Cooperstown, NY, USA; Hall of Fame president Jeff Idelson (L) presents the Hall of Fame plaque to Hall of Fame Inductee

Tony La Russa

(LC) along with National baseball hall of fame chairman of the board Jane Forbes Clark (RC) and baseball commissioner Bud Selig (R) during the class of 2014 national baseball Hall of Fame induction ceremony at National Baseball Hall of Fame. Mandatory Credit: Gregory J. Fisher-USA TODAY Sports

Tampa’s Tony La Russa has been inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame.

The 69-year-old won 12 division titles, six pennants and three World Series titles in 33 years managing the Chicago White Sox, Oakland Athletics and St. Louis Cardinals.

He was introduced by commissioner Bud Selig as well as Jane Forbes Clark.

His 2,728 career wins as a manager are third all time behind Connie Mack and John McGraw.

La Russa managed the White Sox from 1979-1986 but was fired midseason. He joined the Athletics that same season, who he managed from 1986-1995, winning a World Series title in 1989.

He then spent the last 16 years of his career managing the Cardinals where he led them to two World Series titles in 2006 and 2011. He retired at the end of the 2011 season.

His Hall of Fame plaque reads:

"“Master of manoeuvring lineups and managing bullpens, guided teams to 2,728 wins, third-most ever. Led clubs to three World Series championships (1989, 2006, 2011) and six pennants, including three straight with Oakland from 1988-90. Four-time manager of the year, became first skipper to win All-Star game in both leagues and second to win World Series in both circuits. His game 6 direction in 2011 series propelled Cardinals to improbably comeback. Managed 5,097 games, becoming second skipper of 5,000 or more contests in American pro sports history.”"

La Russa was a major league player for six seasons but hit just .199 in 132 games with no home runs and seven RBIs.

A Tampa native, La Russa attended the University of South Florida and later Florida State, where he earned a Juris Doctor in law.

La Russa elected to not have a logo on his cap on his plaque.

The other inductees this year are Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine, Frank Thomas, Joe Torre and Bobby Cox.